Posted by: kcgadiyar | October 24, 2009

Honest Scrap

So i chanced upon this post by my friend called the “Honest scrap”. The basic rules of which are

  1. You have to first list 10 honest things about yourself (and make them interesting)
  2. Second present the task to seven others.

With that in mind. Here are 10 perfectly honest things about me (which i feel can be shared in a public forum):

  1. I am a Mangalorean through and through. I believe it is the best place on the planet and no amount of arguments can get me to back down from my stance, every other place can only compete for second. I try my best to make sure i attend the Mangalore Rathotsava every year, and have only missed it 2 times so far.
  2. My favorite sport is Formula One. Cricket, Football and Wrestling (ya, i know it’s fixed, but it is still entertaining) follow closely. Also, i have never seen Senna drive, so as far as i am concerned, Schumacher is god.
  3. I make it a point to watch the first episode of any new serial on Television. I don’t know why i do this, i just do it. Of course, i almost never watch anything beyond the first episode though.
  4. I have been a member of a library since i was 3 years old, and still go there everytime i am in Mangalore. I had promised myself that when the next Dan Brown book came out (which was supposed to be in late 2006) i would purchase it from the library. The book came out 3 years late, but i kept my word.
  5. I am a SRK fan, i have seen almost every movie of his (or is it I have seen every movie of his) even “Oh Darling, yeh hai India”. I used to defend his bad performances, but i have grown out of that and now recognize when a performance is good versus when it is bad. Also, DDLJ is probably the best romantic movie made in India ever.
  6. I love chocolate. Who doesn’t?
  7. I hate art movies. If i wanted to see tragic endings, i would watch the news. I believe that a movie should be an escape from reality, or if they are trying to be realistic, at the very least try to be entertaining. I don’t like it when movies decide that they want to be symbolic for no apparent reason. I watched “Transformers 2” in IMAX and loved it. The movie didn’t pretend to change the world, the trailers were clear “Come in, enjoy your popcorn, relax, watch the robots fight each other”.
  8. My favorite comic book hero is “Green Lantern”. Just edging out Batman. My library never had too many Batman comics when i was growing up, but there seemed to be a lot of Green Lantern comics. This might explain why i like those comics better.
  9. I have no strong political leanings either way. But i do believe that elections have devolved into a process of choosing the lesser of the two evils.
  10. I hate waking up early, i can stay awake till late, but waking up early is an alien concept. I don’t know why this is, because everyone else in my family are early-birds. My mom can get all the housework done before i finally wake up at around 10. The weekend is a synonym for “Time to sleep” for me.

There you have it, 10 perfectly honest things about me.

Since i need to nominate people, if you have read the whole thing, consider yourself nominated for the “Honest Scrap”. Do send me a link if you decide to write one yourself.

Until next time,

K.C.G

Responses

  1. Hey,
    You posted ’10 honest things about you’ under general nonsense?
    Surprised, you did not mention Calvin and Hobbes anywhere.

    i’m with you on point 1. I’m a huge FAN of chocolate dad and no one will ever find any better ice cream parlor than ‘ideal’.


Leave a Reply

Categories

