Posted by: kcgadiyar | January 19, 2013

7:45 : My entry for the Get Published contest

The Idea:

The driving idea behind this story is “Can you fall in love with someone you have never talked to?”

The story takes place over the course of 4 years at one location – the bus stop. The boy and girl in the story catch a glimpse of each other every day at the bus stop at 7:45 as their buses pass each other on their way to college, but no words are ever exchanged between them. A stolen glimpse, an exchanged smile, a silent joke shared across the road, these are the only interactions between the boy and the girl. The story is narrated in first-person, but with separate narrations by the boy and the girl as we see the love story develop from each person’s point of view. Through the narration, we learn more about both people and their perspective about the few moments they see each other every morning. We learn about love at first sight and the emotional highs and lows which come as part and parcel of the same.

 

What makes this story ‘Real’:

It’s a story which everyone who has ever liked someone, and changed their daily routine just to catch a further glimpse of the person, can relate to. This story is constructed from real people, friends who have had similar love stories, both successful and unsuccessful. Most importantly, the story has a “this could happen to you” feeling about it which makes it feel all the more real.

 

Extract:

Where do I begin? Well, starting at the start seems logical enough.

I have a list of things I hate – two of those things are waking up early in the morning, and being stuck outside in the rain without an umbrella. That day the fates conspired against me, as I had to wake up at 6:30am in order to catch the 7:45 bus to college and the clear skies decided to open up in a downpour when I stood waiting at the bus stop. To top it all off, it looked like the bus was going to be delayed as well since 7:45 had come and gone without any sign of it.

As i stood there trying to keep myself dry under the awning of a chai-store, I spotted a bus on the opposite side of the road. “Lucky people”, I thought to myself, “dry and on their way to wherever they are going”. I looked at all of them in their seats, the usual suspects were all there – the mothers going to drop their kids off at school, office workers waiting to get to work and dreading getting to work, other students like myself headed to other colleges. I didn’t think much of anyone there since I was still waiting for my bus to arrive, but something made me look again. Then, it happened. I saw her, seated 3 seats behind the driver, and she almost made me forget why I was at the bus stop that morning.

 

This is my entry for the HarperCollins–IndiBlogger Get Published contest, which is run with inputs fromYashodhara Lal and HarperCollins India.

Leave a Reply

Categories

